On September 21, the U.S. Senate voted 49-48 along party lines on a procedural motion to advance the nomination of current Federal Trade Commission (FTC) Commissioner Rohit Chopra to become the director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB). Commissioner Chopra’s nomination had been in limbo since March, when the Senate Banking Committee failed to overcome a deadlock in advancing the nomination to the Senate floor. The procedural vote clears the way for a vote on the nomination by the Senate. Earlier this month, President Biden nominated privacy advocate Alvaro Bedoya to fill Chopra’s seat at the FTC.